Dr Amanda Barnard

Office of the Chief Executive (OCE) Science Leader

Contact details:


Dr. Amanda Barnard is an Office of the Chief Executive (OCE) Science Leader at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO); joining as an Australian Research Council Queen Elizabeth II Fellow in 2009. She received her Ph.D. (Applied Physics) in from RMIT in 2003, followed by a Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow in the Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory (USA), and the prestigious senior research position as Violette & Samuel Glasstone Fellow at the University of Oxford (UK) with an Extraordinary Research Fellowship at The Queen's College. As OCE Science Leader she works with the Molecular & Materials Modelling team within Data61; elite multi-disciplinary team of physicists, chemists, materials scientists, engineers and computer scientists, working to increasing our understanding of structure/property relationships using data-driven methods, materials data science, materials informatics, cheminformatics, data visualisation and statistical nanotechnology.

Dr Barnard is a member of numerous Boards and national Committees, and regularly Chairs scientific conferences and symposia in Australia, Europe, USA and Asia. In 2014 she became an Associate Editor for Science Advances (AAAS) and continued her term on the Nature Index Panel (Nature Publishing Group). For her work she has won the 2009 Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics from the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, the 2009 Malcolm McIntosh Award from the Prime Minister of Australia for the Physical Scientist of the Year, the 2010 Frederick White Prize from the Australian Academy of Sciences, the 2014 ACS Nano Lectureship (Asia/Pacific) from the American Chemical Society, and the 2014 Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Theory) from the Foresight Institute, being the first woman to do so in the history of the award.

Achievements and Awards

  • 2017-2018

    Woman of Achievement
    Black & White Foundation

  • 2014-2015

    Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Theory)
    Foresight Institute

  • 2014-2015

    ACS Nano Lectureship (Asia/Pacific)
    American Chemical Society

  • 2010-2011

    Frederick White Prize
    Australian Academy of Science

  • 2010-2011

    UNSW Eureka Prize for Science Research
    Australian Museum

  • 2010-2011

    IEEE Distinguished Lecturer
    IEEE South Australia

  • 2009-2010

    Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year
    Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

  • 2009-2010

    Mercedes-Benz Australian Environmental Research Award
    Banksia Foundation

  • 2009-2010

    Chief's Research Award
    CSIRO Materials Science & Engineering

  • 2009-2012

    Future Summit Leadership Award
    Australian Davos Connection

  • 2009-2010

    Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics
    International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

  • 2009-2010

    JG Russel Award
    Australian Academy of Science

  • 2008-2009

    L'Oreal Australia "For women in science" Award
    L'Oreal Australia and UNESCO

  • 2008-2009

    RMIT University Alumnus of the Year
    RMIT University

  • 2005-2008

    Extraordinary Research Fellowship
    The Queen's College, Oxford

Professional Experiences

  • 2013-2018

    OCE Science Leader
    Office of the Chief Executive (OCE)

  • 2009-2013

    Queen Elizabeth II Fellow
    Australian Research Council (ARC)

  • 2008-2009

    Inaugural Future Generation Fellow
    University of Melbourne

  • 2005-2008

    Violette & Samuel Glasstone Fellow
    University of Oxford

  • 2003-2005

    CNM Distinguished Fellow
    Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)


  • 2017-2020

    Data-driven Materials Discovery and Characterisation using Artificial Intelligence, CSIRO Postdoctoral Scheme

  • 2015-2018

    Stereochemistry and Statistical Modelling for Polymer Prediction, OCE Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme (Collaboration with Ezio Rizzado, San Thang and Graeme Moad)

  • 2014-2017

    Dynamic Efficiency of Nanostructures Electrocatalysts, OCE Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme

  • 2014-2017

    Quantum Mechanical Solvation Energies for Modelling Site-dependent pKa in Molecular Systems, , OCE Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme (Collaboration with Manolo Per)

  • 2013-2018

    Statistical Nanoscience, OCE Science Leader Scheme

  • 2013-2016

    Molecular Design Of Inhibitors for Self Repair of Surfaces, OCE Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme (Collaboration with Ivan Cole)

  • 2013-2016

    Thermodynamic Cartography of Zinc Oxide: Connecting Structure, Environment and Performance, OCE Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme

  • 2012-2015

    CMQMC, Project Development Grant, Advanced Materials Transformative Capability Platform

  • 2012-2015

    Modelling Self-assembly of Carbon Nanostructures and the Formation of Multilayered Graphene Membranes, OCE Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme

  • 2011-2015

    ARC Discovery Grant - A theoretical hierachy to investigate the electronic behaviour of graphene nanostructures under realistic

  • 2010-2013

    Predicting Material Properties for Optimal Nanodiamond-based Chemotherapeutic Delivery Systems, OCE Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme

  • 2009-2014

    ARC Discovery Grant - Environmental stability of nanoscale materials for catalysis and sensing

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2018

    Chair, National Computational Merit Allocation Scheme (NCMAS)

  • 2017

    Mid-Term Review Panel, Centres of Research Excellence (CoREs), New Zealand

  • 2014

    External Advisory Board, AIBN Centre for Theoretical and Computational Molecular Science (CTCMS)

  • 2014

    Nature Index Panel, (Physical Sciences), Nature Publishing Group (NPG)

  • 2016-2017

    Deputy Chair, National Computational Merit Allocation Scheme (NCMAS)

  • 2015-2017

    Course Advisory Board, La Trobe Institute for Molecular Sciences

  • 2014-2017

    Associate Editor, Science Advances (AAAS)

  • 2010-2013

    External Advisory Board, Centre for the Study of Choice (CenSoC)

  • 2005-2011

    Associate Editor - Journal of Computational and Theoretical Nanoscience


We have publications by Dr Amanda Barnard
For more publications, please see Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=lGtwfOQAAAAJ&hl=en Researcher ID: A-7340-2011 ORCID: 0000-0002-4784-2382