Dr Cathy Foley

CSIRO Chief Scientist

Contact details:


Dr Cathy Foley, CSIRO Chief Scientist, has made distinguished contributions to the understanding of superconducting materials and to the development of devices using superconductors for a number of applications including to detect magnetic fields and locate valuable deposits of minerals. She is also the Chair of the Australian National Fabrication Facility Victorian Node Collaboration Committee and the ARC Steel Hub Advisory Committee as well as sitting on several other committees and boards. She has made significant contributions to the scientific community as president of several scientific societies and as a member of committees such as PMSEIC giving advice to Government on scientific and technological matters. She was awarded the `Woman of the Year’ by the NSW Government in 2013 and the International IEEE Award for Continuing and Significant Contributions to Applied Superconductivity 2014. In 2015 she was awarded the Clunies Ross Medal of the Australian Academy of Technological Science and Engineering and Australian Institute of Physics’ Outstanding Service to Physics Award. As a leader in CSIRO, she is working to help Australia to transform to be globally competitive and sustainable by engaging with Australian researchers, government and industry to assist with the translation of research for a healthy and sustainable Australia that is also economically successful.

Professional Areas

Current Roles

  • CSIRO Chief Scientist
    Executive Team (2018-present)

  • Science Director and Deputy Director
    Manufacturing (2014-2018)

  • Chief
    Materials Science and Engineering (2010-2014)

  • Deputy Chief
    Materials Science and Engineering (2010)

  • Program Leader
    Materials Science and Engineering (2007-2010)

Professional Experiences

  • 1985-2016


  • 1988-1993

    Weekly Guest
    ABC Radio

  • 1989

    Casual Lecturer
    University of Sydney

Achievements and Awards

  • 2016

    Outstanding Service to Physics in Australia Award
    Australian Institute of Physics

  • 2015

    Clunies Ross Medal
    Australian Academy of Technology Sciences and Engineering

  • 2014

    Australian Academy of Science Lloyd Reese Lecturer
    Australian Academy of Science

  • 2014

    International IEEE Award for Continuing and Significant Contributions to Applied Superconductivity
    NSW Government

  • 2013

    NSW Premier’s Women of the Year
    NSW Government

  • 2011

    Operating Technique Award (MIOTA)
    AUSIMM Mineral Industry