Dr David Hansen

CEO, Australian e-Health Research Centre

Contact details:


Dr David Hansen
David Hansen is CEO of the Australian e-Health Research Centre, a joint venture between the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and Queensland Health. David leads a research program of over 80 scientists and engineers developing information and communication technologies for the healthcare system. Project areas include predictive analytics, health informatics, biomedical imaging, mobile and tele-health. Prior to joining CSIRO, David worked for LION bioscience Ltd in the UK, developing genomic data and tool integration software.

David is also the Chair of the Board of the Health Informatics Society of Australia (HISA) and played a key role in initiatives such as the introduction of the Certified Health Informatician Australia (CHIA) program and the annual Health Informatics Conference (HIC) and Big Data conferences.

David is passionate about the role of information and communication technologies in health care and the role of Health Informatics professionals in developing a safe, high quality efficient and sustainable healthcare system in Australia.

Current Roles

  • CEO and Research Director
    Australian e-Health Research Centre

Academic Qualifications

  • 2011

    University of Queensland

  • 1995

    Australian National University

  • 1990

    BSc (Hons)
    University of Queensland

  • 1989

    University of Queensland

Professional Experiences

  • 1998-2004

    Research and Development Manager
    Lion Bioscience, Cambridge, UK

  • 1998-1998

    Software Engineer
    European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, UK

  • 1996-1997

    Postdoctoral Fellow
    Weizmann Institute of Science

  • 1995-1997

    Postdoctoral Fellow
    Australian National University


  • 2016-2021

    NHMRC Targeted Call in Genomics and Health

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2015

    Chair, Health Informatics Society of Australia

  • 2013

    Board Member, Health Informatics Society of Australia

  • 2014

    Chair, Research Committee, Prince Charles Hospital Foundation