Blog icon

Dr Neil Lazarow

Senior Research Consultant


Neil Lazarow (PhD, MA(Hons), PgDip(PolSci), BA) leads the Water Program for CSIRO, which delivers trusted solutions to share and secure water for people, industry and water-dependent ecosystems, and support adaptation into the future - through the co-production, design and delivery of water and related services, tools and technologies in Australia and internationally to inform operations, management, planning and policy choices from enterprise to basin scale that supports industry, communities and the environment. The Program holds CSIRO’s capability in hydrology, hydroclimate, hydrogeology, environmental engineering, water ecosystems, basin planning and environmental informatics.

Dr Lazarow’s areas of expertise focus on how society makes complex trade-offs in resource constrained environments. His work extends to global challenges such as climate, water security, risk and resilience, sustainable cities and food security, as well as coasts, recreation and tourism. His pioneering work on the valuation of coastal resources has helped to develop this field of research and he remains a thought leader in this area.

Dr Lazarow joined CSIRO as a Science-Policy Specialist in 2012 from the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency. Prior to his appointments with the Commonwealth Government and CSIRO, Dr Lazarow held a number of roles at Griffith University from 2002 – 2010. In addition to his academic, science and government appointments, Dr Lazarow has worked in the consultancy and NGO sectors.

Dr Lazarow is an active contributor to CSIRO’s domestic and global activities, and has a leading role in strategy, business development and relationship management for water, climate risk and integrated assessments (regional development pathways) in Australian South Asia and Latin America regions.

Academic Qualifications

  • 2010

    PhD (Environmental Science & Natural Resource Management)

  • 2002

    MA(Hons) (Coastal Management)

  • 1996

    PG Diploma (Political Science)

  • 1993

    BA (Politics & Philosophy)