Blog icon

Dr Jenny Stauber

Chief Research Scientist

Contact details:



Dr Stauber is Chief Research Scientist and formerly Deputy Chief of the CSIRO Division of Land and Water, based in Sydney. She has over 40 years’ research experience in the fields of aquatic ecotoxicology and human toxicology, and has written over 300 scientific and technical publications relating to the bioavailability and toxicity of contaminants in aquatic systems. Jenny has chaired and served on several World Health Organisation review boards, together with the NSW EPA Board and a large number of advisory panels to the Australian government on areas as diverse as ecotoxicology, contaminants, uranium mining, hazardous waste, acid sulphate soils, chemicals risk assessment and water quality guidelines. In 2014, Jenny was appointed to the Australian Government's Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development. In 2015 Jenny was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) and as a SETAC Fellow in 2016. In 2020 she was elected as
Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. She is currently a Visiting Professor at the Environmental Research Institute (SERI), South China Normal University, Guangzhou, China.

Professional Areas

Current Roles

  • CSIRO Lucas Heights Site Leader

Academic Qualifications

  • 2010

    Australian Institute of Company Directors

  • 1996

    Doctor of Philosophy, University of Tasmania,

  • 1984

    Master of Science (Microbiology), University of Sydney

  • 1979

    Bachelor of Science, University of Sydney

Professional Experiences

  • Nov 2008-June 2014

    Deputy Chief
    CSIRO Land and Water

  • July 2012-June 2013

    Acting Chief
    CSIRO Land and Water

  • 2006-2008

    Stream Leader of the Aquatic Contaminants research stream within Centre for Environmental Contaminants Research Theme

  • 2006-2008

    Group Leader of the Aquatic Chemistry and Toxicology research group in Environmental Biogeochemistry program (CLW)

Achievements and Awards

  • 2017-2017

    CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement

  • 2017-2017

    SETAC Exceptional Paper Award

  • 2016-2016

    Fellow of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry

  • 2015-2015

    Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE)

  • 2012-2012

    WA Golden Gecko Award – Runner up

  • 2008-2008

    Awarded the 2008-09 Bede Morris Fellowship

  • 2006-2006

    Land & Water Australia Eureka Prize for Water Research for research into the assessment and regulation of contaminated sediments
    Australian Museum

  • 2006-2006

    CSIRO Medal for Research Achievement. For research advancing the assessment and regulation of contaminants in aquatic sediments

  • 2005-2005

    12th International Symposium on Aquatic Toxicity Assessment, Skiathos, Greece- Best Oral Presentation Award

  • 1999-1999

    Guy Parker Award for best paper published in the journal "Water"

  • 1999 -1999

    Michael Flynn Award for Best Paper at the Australian Water and Wastewater Association (AWWA) Federal Convention

  • 1991 -1991

    International Union of Biochemistry Travel Fellowship

  • 1989-1989

    Lucas Heights Scientific Society Award (with Mark Florence),


  • 2018-2018

    NiPERA Nickel Guidelines

  • 2017-2017

    Gladstone Ports Corporation

  • 2015-2018

    NiPERA Tropical Risk Assessment

  • 2015-2015

    DFAT Ganga River Report Card, India

  • 2011-2013

    AusAID India

  • 2006-2008

    AusAID China

  • 2007-2008

    SA EPA Risk Assessment

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2017-2018

    Judge, Clunies Ross Awards, ATSE

  • 2017-2017

    Judge, SETAC Global Founders Award

  • 2014-2018

    Chair, CSIRO Julius Awards

  • 2013-2015

    Co-organiser, Safe Water Workshops, India

  • 2012-2014

    Chair, CSIRO Payne Scott Awards

  • 2008-2010

    Organiser, AusAID Ecotoxicology Workshops, China

  • 2008-2014

    CSIRO Women in Science Program