Blog icon

Dr Yingping Wang

/Ying Ping Wang/

Contact details:



Dr Wang completed his PhD in plant ecophysiology from University of Edinburgh in 1988, and moved to CSIRO, Australian in 1990. He is a chief research scientist in CSIRO since 2015 and one of the two key scientists responsible for developing the Australian community land surface model (CABLE) that has over 100 registered users from 51 institutions in 13 countries. He has published over 240 papers in major international journals including >35 in Sciences, PNAS, Nature and its family journals. His major achievements include the development of the Australian community land model (CABLE), two-leaf canopy scheme, the unified theory of global nitrogen fixation, and the first global model of carbon, nitrogen and phosphorus cycles. He also pioneered the applications of model-data fusion in terrestrial ecology. He is chief editor for Agriculture and Forest Meteorology since 2019, an associate editor for Global Biogeochemical Cycles and a Clarivate highly cited researchers in 2018-2023 (
Google scholar (

He has been a leader of various teams since 1997 and a member of various committees in CSIRO. CV is available upon request via email (yingping dot wang at csiro dot au).

Other Interests

Table tennis

Fields of Research

Current Roles

  • Chief Research Scientist
    Land surface modeling

Academic Qualifications

  • 1983

    Central South Forestry University, China

  • 1988

    University of Edinburgh

Professional Experiences

  • 1988-1990

    research associate
    Edinburgh University

  • 2008-2012

    Adjunct Professor
    University of Technology Sydney

  • 2017-2020

    Adjunct Professor
    University of New South Wales

  • 1990-1991

    visiting fellow
    Australian National University

  • 1995-1995

    visiting fellow
    Edinburgh University

  • 2005-2006

    visiting scientist
    Carnegie Instution of Washington

  • 2008-2008

    visiting scientist

Achievements and Awards

  • 1985-1988

    British Council Studentship
    Edinburgh University

  • 2004-2004

    Senior visiting fellowship
    Australian Academy of Sciences

  • 2016-2016

    Distinguished Lecturer

  • 2017-2017

    15 yeras anniversary memorial award