Blog icon


Please enter a valid first name

Please enter a valid last name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message to send to the contact

Contact details:



Dr Sam Burnham is the team leader for the Neuroimaging team in the eHealth program. Sam and her team apply their capability in engineering and data science to answer key questions in medical research, specifically in neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's. Sam is passionate both about health and technology and is determined to make an impact in these fields. She has published extensively in key medical journals, such as the Lancet Neurology, and her work has contributed to CSIRO's IP portfolio. She has won a number of awards, including the annual CSIRO John Philip Award for Excellence in Young Scientists as well as a prestigious Julius Career award. This catalysed her journey of discovery in the innovation space, including courses at INSEAD and sabbaticals at Harvard & Oxford. Sam has been accepted into the fourth cohort of homewardbound a year long leadership journey (including a trip to Antarctica!) that equips 100 female leaders per year to make a global difference. Sam is continually looking for ways to grow and learn.

Academic Qualifications

  • 2008

    Doctorate of Philosophy (Chemical Engineering), Newcastle University, UK

  • 2004

    Master of Science (Process Analytics and Quality Technology), Newcastle University, UK

  • 2003

    Bachelor of Science (Chemical and Process Engineering), Newcastle University, UK

Professional Experiences

  • April 2012-April 2014

    Senior Post-Doctoral Fellow

  • April 2009-April 2012

    OCE Post-Doctoral Fellow

  • August 2017-October 2017

    Visiting Scientist
    Harvard Medical School

  • October 2017-December 2017

    Visiting Scientist
    Oxford University

Achievements and Awards

  • 2015-2019

    Julius Career Award

  • 2015

    Junior Faculty Award

  • 2014

    deLeon Prize in Neuroimaging
    Alzheimer's Association

  • 2013-2015

    Janssen ECR Fellowship
    Janssen Pharmaceuticals

  • 2013-2014

    Ruby Payne-Scott Award

  • 2012-2013

    John Philip Award for Excellence in Young Scientists

  • 2012-2013

    CMIS Early Career Resaercher Award

  • 2011-2012

    CMIS Communications Award

Other highlights

  • 2016--

    First Author Publication in Lancet Neurology

  • 2014; 2017--

    Sabbaticals at Harvard Medial School

  • 2017--

    Sabbatical at Oxford University


  • 2019-2022

    NHMRC (1156891) Elucidating the biomarker sequence of the natural history of progression of Alzheimer’s disease

  • 2019-2022

    NHMRC (1161706) Genetic and lifestyle susceptibility and resilience factors affecting rates of change in preclinical Alzheimer's Disease