Blog icon

Prof Michelle Colgrave

Deputy Director (Impact)


Please enter a valid first name

Please enter a valid last name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message to send to the contact

Contact details:



Professor Michelle Colgrave is the Deputy Director (Impact) in CSIRO Agriculture and Food, based at the Queensland Bioscience Precinct in Brisbane, Australia. Prior to taking on the Deputy Director role, Michelle led the Future Protein Mission for CSIRO. Her scientific background is the application of proteomics, the study of proteins using mass spectrometry, to agriculture and food science to the benefit of human health - with a special focus on proteins involved in food intolerance and allergy as well as bioactive proteins that bring specific health benefits. Prof Colgrave is a Chief Investigator on the ARC Centre of Excellence for Innovations in Peptide and Protein Science.

Prior to joining CSIRO, Prof Michelle Colgrave has built strong, international reputation for her studies in the structure and function of bioactive peptides, including the cyclotides. Her research, often applying innovative approaches, has been widely published in high impact journals (Nature, ACS Chemical Biology, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Biophysical Journal). Her findings have gone beyond reporting molecular structures to uncovering the evolution and development of these peptides (PNAS, Nature Chemical Biology, Plant Cell). She was the editor of the book “Proteomics in Food Science: From Farm to Fork” aimed at introducing the application of MS and proteomics to the food science and agricultural research communities.

Since joining CSIRO in 2007, she has applied proteomic approaches to diverse biological systems, ensuring the success of projects as well as production of high quality publications (PNAS, Molecular Endocrinology, PLoS ONE, Journal of Proteome Research, Proteomics, Biochemistry). Since 2010 Prof Colgrave has applied MS techniques for the quantification of gluten (hordeins in barley; gliadins and glutenins in wheat). The success of this research has been recognized by receipt of the ICM Agrifood Award (Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) Innovation and Excellence Awards, 2020), CSIRO Chairman's Medal (2016), Plant Industry Research Achievement Award (2014), the Payne-Scott Award (2014) and the John Philip Award for Promotion of Excellence in Young Scientists (2012). She was honoured as an ATSE Fellow in 2022.

Professional Areas

Current Roles

  • Deputy Director

Academic Qualifications

  • 2002

    University of Wollongong

  • 1999

    B Adv Sci (Hons I)
    University of Wollongong

Professional Experiences

  • 2007-2019

    Proteomics Research Scientist

  • 2006-2007

    Field Application Scientist
    Applied Biosystems

  • 2002-2006

    Senior Research Officer
    Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of Queensland

  • 2001-2002

    Research Fellow
    Nottingham Trent University

Achievements and Awards

  • 2024-2024

    Harvey W Wiley Award
    AOAC International

  • 2022-2023

    Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering (FTSE)
    Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering (ATSE)

  • 2022-2022

    Women Leading Tech Finalist, Highly Commended
    Women Leading Technology

  • 2021-2021

    Bowie Medal
    Australian and New Zealand Society for Mass Spectrometry (ANZSMS)

  • 2021-2021

    Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence in Research Award
    Edith Cowan University

  • 2020-2020

    ICM Agrifood Award
    Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE)

  • 2017-2017

    Runner-up “Women in Research Award”, Scopus Researcher Awards

  • 2017-2017

    Agriculture & Food Director’s Award for Leadership

  • 2016-2016

    Chairman's Medal

  • 2014-2016

    Payne-Scott Award

  • 2014-2014

    Plant Industry Research Achievement Award

  • 2012-2013

    John Philip Award for the Promotion of Excellence in Young Scientists

  • 2012-2012

    CSIRO Research Achievement Award (Resilin)

  • 2008-2011

    Julius Career Award

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2023-2024

    International Mass Spectrometry Conference Organising Committee

  • 2020-2024

    Asia Oceania Agricultural Proteomics Organization (AOAPO) Board Member

  • 2020-2022

    AgCatalyst (CSIRO) Steering Committee

  • 2016-2020

    Australasian Proteomics Society (APS) Board Member

  • 2017-2019

    HUPO 2019 Organising Committee

  • 2018-2018

    AgCatalyst (CSIRO) Steering Committee

  • 2014-2015

    ANZSMS15 Conference Organising Committee

  • 2012-2018

    Editorial Board Member: Peptidomics

  • 2011-2018

    Editorial Board Member: Journal of Integrated Omics

  • 2010-2015

    Education & Training Officer, APS

We have publications by Prof Michelle Colgrave