Blog icon

Dr Anthony Chesman

Principal Research Scientist - Group Leader


Please enter a valid first name

Please enter a valid last name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message to send to the contact

Contact details:



Dr. Anthony Chesman is a Principal Research Scientist in CSIRO Manufacturing.

Dr Chesman joined CSIRO in 2011 as an OCE Postdoctoral Fellow, and also held a Discovery Early Career Research Award in the area of solar cell research before becoming a Research Scientist in 2014. Dr Chesman is currently researching the development of earth-abundant thin-film solar cells that are produced through high-throughput, solution-processable methods. The ultimate objective of this work is to create flexible photovoltaic devices that can be manufactured by affordable mass-production techniques, such as roll-to-roll printing, which will significantly lower the cost of producing next generation thin film solar cells. Dr Chesman is also contributing to the development of nitrogen vacancy diamond (NVD)-based quantum sensors for chemical analysis.

Dr Chesman is also the Group Leader of the Renewable Energy Systems Group in the Devices and Engineered Systems Program. In this capacity Dr Chesman managers over 35 staff and 20 visitors/affiliates in across the following teams:
- Electrical Machines and Battery System
- Battery Materials and Design
- Printable PV
- Quantum Batteries
- Quantum Biotechnology
- Automation and Sensing

Current Roles

  • Principal Research Scientist

  • Group Leader
    Renewable Energy Systems Group

Academic Qualifications

  • 2010

    PhD (Chemistry), Monash University

  • 2006

    BSc (Hons), Monash University

  • 2005

    BSc, Monash University

Achievements and Awards

  • ANN Overseas Travel Fellowship - Owen Group, Columbia University (USA)
    Australian Nanotechnology Network 2015

  • CSIRO Representative at the Global Young Scientists Summit
    GYSS, Singapore 2014

  • Fresh Science State Finalist
    Science in Public 2013

  • Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA)
    Australian Research Council 2013

  • Office of the Chief Executive (OCE) Postdoctoral Fellowship

  • Mollie Holman Doctoral Medal
    Monash University

  • Research Grant for Doctoral Candidates and Young Academics and Scientists
    Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD)

  • AINSE Postgraduate Research Award
    Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering Inc

  • Maslen Scholarship
    Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand 2008

  • Australian Postgraduate Award Scholarship
    Australian Federal Government

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2019-2022

    Member of Australian Synchrotron Powder Diffraction Beamline Program Advisory Committee

  • 2020-2021

    Symposium Organiser for Pacifichem 2020

  • 2016-2017

    Chair of Australian Synchrotron User Advisory Committee

  • 2014-2017

    Member of Australian Synchrotron User Advisory Committee

  • 2017-2020

    General Committee Member and Secretary of CSIROCare Clayton

We have publications by Dr Anthony Chesman