Blog icon

Prof Richard Evans

Chief Research Scientist


Please enter a valid first name

Please enter a valid last name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message to send to the contact

Contact details:



Dr Evans received his PhD in Organic Chemistry/Astrochemistry in 1992. He subsequently joined CSIRO in Melbourne and is currently a Chief Research Scientist and Senior Project Leader. His research interest in is the development of highly functional materials using living radical polymerization methods with stimuli responsiveness being a recurring theme.

He has published or patented in the areas of click chemistry, non-linear dyes, dyes and hole/electron transport compounds for organic solar cells, low shrinkage ring-opening polymerization and functional ATRP and RAFT agents. Under the umbrella of the CRC-Polymers, he lead the development a portfolio of photochromic dye technology using polymers to control the dyes’ switching speed. The portfolio was sold to Vivimed Labs which now sells the technology as part of its Reversacol photochromic dye product range. He collaborates with laser physicist Prof Min Gu. Dr Evans and Prof Gu were able to break Abbe's Law of Diffraction as applied to 3D photolithography by the combination of a new photoinitiation system (Evans) and new multi-laser lithography. Prof Gu and Evans are currently working towards a Petabyte ultra high capacity optical data storage optical disk. He collaborates with Professor Neil Cameron and Dr Kei Sato (Monash) in self-healing polymers for spray drift control.

He is currently an Adjunct Professor of the School of Science at RMIT University and has held adjunct Professorships at the Centre of Advanced Molecular Design of University of New south Wales and Centre of Microphotonics at Swinburne University of Technology. He recently led the development of a new water based resin system with Dulux Australia and is currently leading a project with BASF concerning adhesion promoters.

Dr Evans has recently completed a 3 year term on the STEM policy committee of the Science Technology Australia (STA) which represents over 70,000 professional scientists of Australia and contributed to their revised vision document and other policy submissions. His specific policy interests is the application of competitive neutrality to publicly funded bodies and issues concerning the intersection of Foreign Influence Transparency Scheme and the traditional practice of global scientific networking.

Other Interests

Achievements and Awards

  • 2014-2014

    Flagship Monthly Award (Nufarm)
    CSIRO Manufacturing Flagship

  • 2012-2012

    Chairman's Award for Excellence in Commercialization
    Cooperative Research Centre for Polymers

  • 2005-2005

    Look Out Award ($10,000)
    CSIRO Corporate

  • 2005-2005

    Divisional Prize for Innovation ($10,000)

  • 2008-2008

    Division Partner or Perish Award SERD project

  • 1995-1995

    Treloar Prize
    RACI Polymer Division

Other highlights

  • 2019-present

    Adjunct Professor RMIT University

  • 2016-2019

    Science Technology Australia STEM Policy Commitee Member

  • 2006-2016

    Adjunct Professor Centre for Microphotonics Swinbourne University of Technology

  • 2009-2012

    Visiting Professorial Fellow. Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design , University of New South Wales

  • 2006-2009

    Adjunct Professor. Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design , University of New South Wales

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2014-Present

    Irish Research Council Grant Assessor

  • 2016-Present

    Comision Nacional de Investigacion Cientifica y Technologica "CONICYT" (National Commision for Scientific and Technological Research. Grant Assessor

  • 2014-2014

    Swiss Science Foundation Grant Assessor

  • 2008-2009

    National Science Foundation USA Grant Assessor

  • 2007-present

    Nature Publishing Group Asia Materials Editorial Advisory Board

We have publications by Prof Richard Evans