Blog icon

Dr Aditi Mankad

Senior Research Scientist


Please enter a valid first name

Please enter a valid last name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message to send to the contact

Contact details:


Dr. Aditi Mankad is a senior research scientist and Team Leader with the Sustainability Pathways Program within CSIRO Land & Water, based in Brisbane. She leads a team of scientists focused on risk and vulnerability in agricultural innovation, biosecurity and biotechnology. Aditi led the 'Maximising Impact' Application Domain within the CSIRO Synthetic Biology Future Science Platform (FSP) between 2017-2022, and now leads the Interdisciplinary Decision Making theme within the Advanced Engineering Biology FSP, which houses the social and behavioural science capability.

Aditi is trained in psychological science and has core expertise in psychological/behavioural issues around motivation, risk perception and behaviour change. She has worked in several interdisciplinary teams comprising social, economic and biophysical scientists, as well as representatives from Government and Industry.

Her current research portfolio comprises:
* public stakeholder attitudes towards synthetic biology technologies
* public risk perception of biosecurity threats
* attitudes towards pest biocontrol and associated management practices
* behavioural adoption of biosecurity activities and technologies

Aditi also has extensive experience in urban sustainability issues, particularly urban water reuse options, attitudes towards sustainability, and water use behaviours. Her previous work as part of the Urban Water Security Research Alliance has involved examining community responses to acceptance and adoption of alternative water technology (rainwater, greywater, stormwater), to help facilitate sustainable water practices.

Other Interests

Dr. Mankad’s broader research background includes health, sport and exercise psychology, encompassing themes related to leadership, motivation, goal orientations and injury rehabilitation.

Current Roles

  • Team Leader
    Biosecurity & Biotechnology - Sustainability Pathways Program

Academic Qualifications

  • 2002

    Bachelor of Psychological Science (Hons)
    University of Queensland

  • 2005

    Master of Science (Sport Psychology)
    Purdue University

  • 2009

    Doctor of Philosophy (Sport, Exercise & Health Psychology)
    The University of Western Australia