Dr Tony Murphy

Contact details:


Tony Murphy has been a research scientist with CSIRO since 1989. He currently a Chief Research Scientist, and leads the Materials and Process Modelling Team. He has worked mainly on the physics, chemistry and applications of thermal plasmas such as welding arcs. His work has included computational fluid dynamic modelling, calculation of the thermophysical properties of plasmas, and optical diagnostics. He developed the ArcWeld software, which predicts weld depth and shape, and other properties of the arc and weld pool, for arc welding of aluminium alloys. He was part of the team that developed the PLASCON plasma waste destruction process; there are now twelve PLASCON plants around the world, destroying ozone-depleting substances, greenhouse gases and toxic organic chemicals. Tony has also worked on the use of solar energy to produce hydrogen from water, and on the optical and thermal properties of nanoparticles and nanostructured films.

His recent projects include:
- Extension of arc welding model to more metals and weld geometries;
- Extension of the arc welding model to allow calculation of weld properties such as residual stress;
- Calculation of the properties of complex gas mixtures and plasmas at high temperatures and pressures;
- Development of computational models of metallic additive manufacturing.

He is also involved with projects investigating the use of non-thermal atmospheric-pressure plasmas for gas production, metal deposition and increasing seed germination.

He has carried out research contracts with several Australian and international companies, including General Motors Holden and General Motors, AutoCRC, CRRC (China Rail and Rolling Stock Corporation), Rail Manufacturing CRC, Boeing, SRL Plasma, LSIS and Siemens.

Tony has published over 250 papers in refereed journals, and his work has over 7000 citations in the ISI Science Citation Index, with an h-index of 38. He has presented over 80 invited, keynote and plenary lectures at international scientific conferences. He has won several awards and holds editorial positions with four international journals, including Editor-in-Chief of Plasma Chemistry and Plasma Processing.

Current Roles

  • Team Leader
    Materials and Process Modelling

Academic Qualifications

  • 1981

    Bachelor of Science with Honours (Physics), University of Sydney

  • 1987

    Doctor of Philosophy (Physics), University of Sydney

Professional Experiences

  • 1989-present

    Research Scientist, CSIRO

  • 1987-1989

    Postdoctoral Scientist, Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Germany

Achievements and Awards

  • 2016

    American Physical Society

  • 2012

    Harrie Massey Medal
    Institute of Physics (UK) & Australian Institute of Physics

  • 2008

    Alan Walsh Medal for Service to Industry (with Tony Farmer and Trevor McAllister)
    Australian Institute of Physics

  • 2003

    Institute of Physics (UK)

  • 2000

    Pawsey Medal
    Australian Academy of Science

  • 2000

    Australian Institute of Physics

  • 1995

    Edgeworth David Medal
    Royal Society of New South Wales

  • 1994

    Engineering Excellence Award in Environmental Engineering (team member)
    Institution of Engineers, Australia, Victorian Division

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2014-present

    Editor-in-Chief, Plasma Chemistry and Plasma Processing

  • 2002-present

    Editorial Board, Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics

  • 2012-present

    Editorial Board, Scientific Reports

  • 2009-2013

    Editorial Board, Plasma Chemistry and Plasma Processing

  • 2016-present

    Editorial Board, Reviews in Modern Plasma Physics

  • 2020-2020

    Chair, Gordon Research Conference on Plasma Processing Science, Andover, NH, USA

  • 2019-2019

    Chair, 'Towards a True Digital Twin of Metal Additive Manufacturing' Symposium, Melbourne

  • 2018-2019

    President of International Plasma Chemistry Society (Vice-President 2016-17; Board of Directors 2004-09 & 2012-19)

  • 2018-2018

    Vice-Chair, Gordon Research Conference on Plasma Processing Science, Smithfield, RI, USA

  • 2013-2013

    Joint Conference Chairman, 21st International Symposium on Plasma Chemistry, Cairns, QLD

  • 2001-2003

    Task Force on Destruction Technologies of the United Nations Environment Programme Technology and Economic Assessment Panel


We have publications by Dr Tony Murphy