Blog icon


Please enter a valid first name

Please enter a valid last name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message to send to the contact


Dr Wei Ni was awarded BE and PhD degrees in Electronics Engineering in 2000 and 2005, respectively, both from Fudan University, Shanghai, China. Currently, he is the Group Leader of the Cybernetics Group in CSIRO, where he is directly responsible for bringing $3.6m and contributed and helped bring $4.5m in research projects from the industry in the past four years. He has helped bring $1.98m in appropriation projects internal to CSIRO. In the same period, the technologies he contributed brought in over $125k p.a. in royalty. Dr Ni is also an adjunct professor at the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) and an honorary professor at Macquarie University (MQ). Before joining CSIRO, he was a Senior Researcher at Nokia Devices R&D (Jan 2008 – March 2009), and a Deputy Project Manager at Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs Research & Innovation Centre (Jan 2005 – Dec 2007). His research interest covers deep learning, deep reinforcement, stochastic optimisation, analytics and modelling, and their applications to network integrity, security and efficiency.

Dr Ni has published four book chapters, 187 journal papers (including 96 IEEE Transactions and 17 IEEE Magazine papers), and 79 conference papers and contributed significantly to the industry with successful launches of an Alcatel-Lucent internal venture and two projects, 25 patents and 10 accepted IEEE standard proposals. His scientific breakthroughs include the world's fastest wireless broadband demonstrator; patented adaptive topology control of software-defined radio network; and QoS provision to unreliable energy-harvesting powered wireless links. His patents have been officially referenced by over 260 patents (from Apple, Intel, Ericsson, Samsung, Nokia, Qualcomm, Blackberry, and Huawei) with a substantial impact on industrial roadmaps.

Dr Ni serves as Chair of IEEE VTS NSW chapter since 2020, Editor of IEEE Trans. Wireless Communications since 2018, served as first Secretary and then Vice-Chair of IEEE VTS NSW chapter (2015 – 2019), Editorial Board Member for Hindawi Journal of Engineering (2012 – 2015), Track Chair of VTC2017-spring, Track Co-chair of VTC2016-spring, Publication Chair of BodyNet 2015, and Student Travel Grant Chair of WPMC 2014. He is a Senior Member of IEEE.

Current Roles

  • Group Leader, Cybernetics Group, Cyber-Physical System Program, Data61 Business Unit, CSIRO
    • Contribute to business unit strategy to build up future-proof business unit, the organisation, and Australia • Shape and implement group strategy to align with organisational strategy and purpose • Develop and maintain strategic partnerships, e.g., DSTG, university, SMEs, other research groups with complementary skills, etc. • Respond to government and department requests for information or technical advices, e.g., COVID-19 tracking, space capability, connectivity challenge, border security, circular economy, etc. • Actively pursue new external and internal project and funding opportunities, e.g., DSTG, DARPA, Boeing, BMTH 3.0, SMEs, CSIRO Future Science Platforms, etc. • Play the role of business unit delegate to advocate applied machine learning to circular economy, satellite tracking and communications in CSIRO Missions and Future Science Platforms • Drive scientific research and engineering exercise on machine learning, deep learning, and deep reinforcement learning, by mentoring junior researchers, postdoctoral fellows, PhD students, Masters and Honors students, and industrial trainees. • Administrate group daily activities and project activities

Academic Qualifications

  • 2005

    Fudan University

  • 2000

    Fudan University

Professional Experiences

  • 2016-2018

    Team Leader
    CSIRO Data61

  • 2013-2016

    Senior Research Scientist
    CSIRO Computational Informatics

  • 2009-2013

    Research Scientist
    CSIRO ICT Centre

  • 2008-2009

    Senior Researcher

  • 2005-2007

    Deputy Project Manager
    Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs

Achievements and Awards

  • 2011

    Inventor Award

  • 2010

    Inventor Award

  • 2009

    Inventor Award
    Nokia Corp.

  • 2007

    Inventor Award
    Alcatel-Lucent Corp.

  • 2006

    Inventor Award
    Alcatel Corp.

  • 2005

    Outstanding Contribution on Product Concepts Award
    Alcatel Corp.

Community and Corporate Citizenship

  • 2020-now

    Chair, IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (VTS) NSW Chapter

  • 2018-2019

    Vice-Chair, IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (VTS) NSW Chapter

  • 2018-now

    Editor for IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communnications

  • 2017-2017

    Track Chair of IEEE VTC'17-Spring

  • 2016-2016

    Track Chair of IEEE VTC'16-Spring

  • 2015-2018

    Secretary of IEEE VTS NSW Chapter

  • 2012-2015

    Editor for Hindawi Journal of Engineering since 2012


We have publications by Dr Wei Ni