Blog icon

Dr Lu Zhang

/Senior Principal Research Scientist, Land and Wate/

Honorary Fellow


Please enter a valid first name

Please enter a valid last name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message to send to the contact

Contact details:

GPO BOX 1700


Dr Lu Zhang obtained his PhD from Free University Brussels in 1992 and now is a Senior Principal Research Scientist and Team Leader at CSIRO Land and Water in Australia. He is also Honorary Professor at the China Agricultural University and Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences.
Lu has over 20 years’ research experiences in catchment hydrology, vegetation-water relationships, salt and water balance modelling and ecohydrology. He has published widely in these areas, with over 150 co-authored peer reviewed publications. His research has significant impact on international science and the Australia water industry.
Lu is known internationally for his research on quantifying vegetation impact on catchment scale water balance and he was awarded CSIRO Chairman’s Medal in 2008 for his contribution to Murray-Darling Basin Sustainable Yields Project. He has led major projects for the Murray-Darling Basin Commission, CRC for Catchment Hydrology, Land and Water Australia, Australian Greenhouse Office, ACIAR, and WfHC. Lu collaborates widely with colleagues from CSIRO, Australian universities, and overseas research institutes and universities.

Fields of Research

Academic Qualifications

  • 1992

    Ph.D in Hydrology
    Free University Brussels, Belgium

  • 1988

    M.Sc in Hydrology
    Free University Brussels, Belgium

  • 1983

    B.Sc in Geography
    Xinjiang University, China

Professional Experiences

  • Team Leader
    CSIRO Land and Water

  • Stream Leader for • Water in a Changing Climate
    Water for a Healthy Country Flagship

  • Project Leader
    CSIRO Land and Water

Achievements and Awards

  • 2017

    Biennial Medal
    Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand Inc. (MSSANZ)

  • 2008

    CSIRO Chairman’s Medal (Murray-Darling Basin Sustainable Yields Project)

  • 2008

    CSIRO Land and Water Strategic Excellence Awards – One CSIRO
    CSIRO Land and Water

  • 2005

    National Natural Science Foundation Collaboration Award
    National Science Fundation of China

  • 2004

    Overseas Assessor, Chinese Academy of Sciences
    Chinese Academy of Sceinces

  • 1985

    International Water Resources Association (IWRA) Award
    International Water Resources Association